#Domagick Day 24-26: Tidal Magic and Dark Moon Ritual

I’ve been reflecting quite a bit these past couple days on water magic, the tides, the dark moon, and transformation. I’ve been doing the #Domagick Challenge (www.magical30.com) again this month because of the powerful transformative changes I experienced during the last challenge. This month I have as well, perhaps even more so.

Day 24

Day 24 brought new additions to my altar: a Burney Relief replica for my dark moon Goddess Lilith, and a new seashell candle I made for the dark moon. 

It was the day of the big event I’ve been writing about. I kept my siren card in mind as I truly did experience “Freedom,” freedom from many of my self-imposed restrictions, self-hate, and demons. 

Day 25

Reflecting after the event. As social events always go, I had more fun than I thought I would. This time it was in part because I straightened my back and held the oracle card in my mind’s eye.

Before dawn broke, I performed a dark moon / new moon ritual. I lit all my black candles, including the new one I’d made, and my candles to the Sea Goddess. And I gave an earnest petition. 

Something potent had happened to me, and I couldn’t quite put my finger on what. 

Day 26

I’ve been reflecting a lot today on the tides, tidal magic, and what it means to practice water magic.

I’ve long worked with water, living right on the river, and having spent time as an aquarist working with sea life. Water magic includes:

  • Water rituals
  • Tidal magic
  • Weather magic
  • Honoring water (and lunar, see below) deities, spirits, etc.
  • Seashell, stones, and other divination methods
  • Working with water elementals (including undines and mermaids) and sea life totems / shamanic guides

Tidal magic is what I tapped into these past couple days. The tides correspond with the moon. When the moon is new or full, She is in straight alignment with the earth and the tides are their most powerful. And just as the moon waxes and wanes, so too do the tides ebb and flow, and magic either grows or releases.

  • Spring tides: during the full or new moon, when low tides are their lowest and high tides are their highest
  • Neap tides: during the first or third quarter, when there is the least difference between the tides

Similarly to how witches may follow the moon patterns to enhance their magical workings, you can also follow the tides throughout the day.

  • Low tide: time for divination and introspective work
  • Rising tide (flood tide or flow tide): time for growing, productive magic
  • High tide: time for manifestation and most potent time for magic
  • Falling tide (ebb tide): time for release or banishment.

The body is mostly water, so the moon affects it, too, according to ancient wisdom.

I had literally tapped into an ability to, as they say, roll with the tides. It sounds silly perhaps, but I didn’t let the overwhelming flows of emotion swamp me. Instead, I flowed with it, and lived in authentic independence, with seductive siren energy (as in, not flirtatious, but attractive-as in, drawing in).

I’m so curious to tap into my inner Sea Goddess further and explore more what water magic can do. I only look forward to the continuing transformation.

Leave a Reply

